Sharing my experience of an Atmos resurrection (thread)

In this forum you can write about anything that does not fit in other forums.
This includes generic Oric talkings and things that are totaly unrelated but want to share with people here :)
jacqu
Officer Cadet

Sharing my experience of an Atmos resurrection (thread)

Post by jacqu »

Hi fellow Oricians,

In this thread (I will post upcoming follow-ups as response to this initial post) I want to share with you my experience of an Atmos restoration from a complete newbie point of view. I made a heavy use of the « Search » feature of this forum to collect all the information that I needed for my journey. So, first I would like to warmly thank all the contributors for their valuable content and a special big up to Dbug for maintaining and animating this fantastic resource.

This thread will be a compilation of useful informations I found mostly here but also on other places on the web to achieve the resurrection of the machine. I will also share some personal contributions, one of them has already been posted ( https://forum.defence-force.org/viewtopic.php?t=2467). I plan to add 5-10 posts to this thread in the coming weeks depending on the time I have.

The machine in question was bought on leboncoin.fr for 100€ and was in a pretty rough shape:
0C510B4A-E7C6-4B9D-8498-D93C0913319D.jpeg
Its working condition was unknown, but I quickly discovered that the case was never opened since the warranty seal was still present and in perfect condition. The inside was in pretty good shape, the only oddity was two RAM chips from another brand and with obvious flux residues.
B6F84D41-6D93-4926-A3EB-DA682C87C5E0.jpeg