3k FreeCell

Want to talks about games you like, would like to see developed on the Oric, it's here.
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4444
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Dbug »

Symoon wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:16 am The game crashes when I put a 16th card in a column (which can be achieved if a king is at the bottom for instance).
Whaou, 16 cards in a column, interesting, guess I could try that.
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Symoon »

Example with level 82:
Before moving the 16th card:
freecell_16cards_crash_before.png
freecell_16cards_crash_before.png (4.39 KiB) Viewed 3495 times
After
freecell_16cards_crash_after.png
freecell_16cards_crash_after.png (4.55 KiB) Viewed 3495 times
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4444
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Dbug »

Yeah, so I looked at the code, and that may be actually difficult to fix.

https://osdn.net/projects/oricsdk/scm/s ... freecell.s

Code: Select all

#define MAXPOS          16
#define MAXCOL          8       ; includes top row as column 0
(...)
_CardSlots                  .dsb MAXCOL*MAXPOS*2	; 256 bytes actually, only the first 128 matter, the 128 copy is just here to help handling the cells and foundations in the same way.
_UndoBufferFrom             .dsb 256
_UndoBufferTo               .dsb 256
Basically I got all the cards in a buffer that's already 256 bytes large, was some optimization to make the game fit in 3k, I'll probably have to rework a lot of code to get the thing to work.

I'll look at it one of these days if I get inspired :)
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Symoon »

Aha, I guessed so ;)
Technically, if I'm not mistaken the maximum a colmun could hold would be 19 cards.

There are also graphical glitches that begin around the 14th card, and some sentences here or there that are not correctly cleaned, but that's really if you're a perfectionnist.
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4444
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Dbug »

Actually, if you could give me a full list of the issues, that would help, I'd rather do a global pass and see all that can be fixed, than doing it one by one :)
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Symoon »

Will try but expect some delay ;)
(reproducting them on purpose requires plaging quite a bit I suppose)
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4444
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Dbug »

(reproducting them on purpose requires plaging quite a bit I suppose)
Well, just the fact that you have spent enough time playing it to have found bugs is actually satisfying :)
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Symoon »

Here we go ;)
This is from the latest version (I think), allowing UNDO and level selection.

There's a "A" char that wasn't there in previous versions:
freecell_permanent_A_char.png
freecell_permanent_A_char.png (4.66 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
When pressing ESC to quit a game, there are strings that shouldn't be here (and were not in previous version) :
freecell_unexpected_strings_when_ESCaping_a_game.png
freecell_unexpected_strings_when_ESCaping_a_game.png (4.69 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: 3k FreeCell

Post by Symoon »

When a colums holds 13 cards, there's a flashing glitch in the bottom TEXT lines at each card move. The TEXT lines are restored so it's not annoying to play, just ugly (probably clearing screen too low):
freecell_flashing_glitch_at_every_card_move_with_a_13_cards_column.png
freecell_flashing_glitch_at_every_card_move_with_a_13_cards_column.png (5.11 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
With 14 cards, this bit remains visible (probably NOT clearing screen low enough) :
freecell_permanent_glitch_with_14th_card.png
freecell_permanent_glitch_with_14th_card.png (4.67 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
As you can see, nothing that prevents from playing ;)
Post Reply