no colour on my atmos

If you want to ask questions about how the machine works, peculiar details, the differences between models, here it is !
How to program the oric hardware (VIA, FDC, ...) is also welcome.
nobbysnuts
Pilot Officer

no colour on my atmos

Post by nobbysnuts »

HI i
ve just bought an atmos after finding my oric 1 in mums attic after 20 years (what fun!) and getting the nostalga bug .
The problem is it seems not to have any colour I have adjusted the two screws underneath as I used too with my first oric bit it has no effect has anyone any Idea whats wrong I have a little electrical now how as I work in the power industry but am a bit lost with this
Many thanks Ian
ONLY DEAD FISH GO WITH THE FLOW
Dbug
Site Admin

Post by Dbug »

Hi.

Are you using the antenna socket, or the RGB connector ?
nobbysnuts
Pilot Officer

Post by nobbysnuts »

Hi im using the antenna socket I bought it from france is there a difference in models?
Thanks Ian
Dbug
Site Admin

Post by Dbug »

Yep, there is a difference.

The Antena format is difference in France and Uk. Actually the first models of Atmos sold in France (build in UK) were not usable with the antenna cable, all you got was kind of wobbling, fuzzy, video inverted black and white picture.

There was some hacks involving transistors and resistors soldered on the UHF converter to get a (still crappy) signal with the (kind of) right colors.

I guess that later models built in France already have this modification, and so you are out of luck.

If you can try to open it, check if the small wire that connects to the metal box has some added compoents or if it connects directly to the motherboard.

Anyway, in all case you should try to simply connect the oric using a RGB cable, the quality would be SO much better. If you can find a good old RGB monitor (like old Philips or Commodore), the cable is very easy to do, just connect red, green, blue and ground, pin to pin and here you are, perfect crisp picture :)